What is MC authority?

Howdy! So the first step to becoming an owner operator is to get your MC authority. What is that you may ask? Good questions. MC stands for Motor Carrier. That is me, the trucker. The government agency that oversees truck drivers and carriers is the FMCSA. Now that’s a big acronym. It stands for Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration.

MC Authority is your permission to haul freight for others (your shippers) for profit. This is to ensure that you are complying with all laws and regulations. It’s actually pretty easy to register. It’s all done online nowadays through the FMCSA website. The fees aren’t too bad either. $300 to become a registered carrier.

I’ve heard that the application isn’t too difficult, and actually isn’t too long. Regardless, I made sure to set aside a couple hours to do it. I was pleasantly surprised though. It actually only took me about a half hour to do it! I can imagine it was much harder in the old days when you had to fill out the paperwork by hand. Yuck.

Anyway, now I just need to wait. In a few weeks I’ll get a letter telling me that I have been “approved”. I say that in quotes, because it doesn’t mean all is done. After that happens, My name and information gets published in a register on the FMCSA website. This is for 14 days I believe, and the reason for this is to make records public so anyone that may have an issue with me getting MC authority can speak up. This is due to many scammers and shady folks going around causing trouble, then just registering another MC # and doing it over and over again. This way, people can recognize your name and possible submit an objection to getting your authority.

So that’s that. I actually applied about 16 days ago now, so I should get the letter any day. For now, thanks for reading!

 

Leave a Reply

